My October Faves

So I had this idea that I’d showcase some of my fave things at the end of each month – but since it’s Halloween next week, I couldn’t resist leaving the end-of-the-month blog to pumpkin carving. Saying that, please don’t expect Picasso on a fruit (genuinely had to google if a pumpkin was a veg or fruit, who knew?) SO without further ado, here’s some of the things I’ve been lurrrving this month.

Benefit Roller Lash Mascara 

20161024_141647-01

Excuse me whilst I bop around like a baby goat because this is the best mascara I’ve ever used. Now don’t take my word for gospel; I’ve not tried every single mascara out there, but of all the ones I have tried, this pips them. It separates your lashes perfectly, it’s not clumpy, it doesn’t tug and it’s the only mascara that I feel like has ever properly made my eyes look bigger. Like they pop. I believe it comes in both brown & black. Thank me later.

RRP £19.50

https://www.benefitcosmetics.com/uk/en-gb/product/roller-lash

Benefit Dew the Hoola Soft Matte Liquid Bronzer

20161024_142058-01

In keeping with the Benefit theme, I give you ‘Dew the Hoola’ – it’s glorious. A little out of season now I grant you, but if you’ve still got the last of a summer tan like I have, it gives you a subtle bronzed glow – it’s not heavy in consistency at all, in fact it glides over my skin. I’ve been mixing a pea size amount with a little liquid foundation and it gives me a really lovely natural look. The only thing is it is just the one shade, so I don’t know what it’s like on different skin tones.

RRP £22.50

https://www.benefitcosmetics.com/uk/en-gb/search/results?query=dew%20the%20hoola

Nivea’s Daily Essentials Range – Face Care

20161024_143226-01

The Gentle Cleansing Cream Wash is absolutely the best face wash out there – for me anyway! It’s aimed at dry and sensitive skin, both of which I tend to have – yet this manages it so well. I’m left with super soft skin after every use and I credit it wholeheartedly with my skin looking and feeling smoother. I also notice the difference so much if I miss a night using it. 

The Double Effect Eye Make-up Remover & Cleansing Wipes are equally fantabulous. The wipes actually came as a recommendation from my little Irish Nanny who’s been raving about Nivea for years – they’re just so moisturising and kind to your skin. Equally, the eye make-up remover is by far and above the best out there – and I have tried my fair share of removers. I tend to wear top liner and mascara alot, so I appreciate so much that this is such a good quality and kind product; it’s sorta like magic the way it effortlessly wipes away eye make-up without any trouble. 

Superdrug currently have a ‘Better than 1/2 price’ offer on selected Nivea including the Eye Make-Up remover! Click here to take a look 🙂

Country Pumpkin Soy Candle

20161024_163642-01

It legit smells like Autumn in a jar – pumpkin/mixed spice loveliness. Not entirely sure of the make but it says ‘poured in the USA’ – & those Americans do make cracking candles *all hail the Yankee*. This was from Home Sense for just £6.99 – and its just a fraction smaller than a large Yankee jar. BARGAIN. Oh and y’know how some candles smell nice but when you burn them, you can’t smell anything? NOT THIS ONE, it literally fills the room with scent. Gorgey.

Stranger Things – Netflix

4118bc185081d7b9ff5160dc6e5304cbaab081a7

Yessss I succumbed to the much raved about Stranger Things. I’m not gonna lie, initially I wasn’t sure about giving it a go – however a few eps in and I found myself thinking of my fave 80’s tracks and The Goonies. & I really enjoyed it! It’s sci fi and spooky, and Winona Ryder is brilliant. Oh and I love Dustin. So freaking cute.

Roald Dahl Weekly Planner

20161026_130725-01

I am in love with this. Roald Dahl has been with me since I was little, in both book and film, and now in writing. Goofy I know, but this makes me so happy. Also I like planning. Need I anymore excuses to buy this?!

RRP £3.99  – Home Sense

Eco Tools Essential Eye Set

20161026_130613-01

So I’ve had these I think since last Christmas?! But they’ve made it into my October faves on the basis I use them all-the-time. They’re SO good. Apart from being really soft, they’re also such good quality and never shed any brush hairs. They’re travel size and come in a handy canvassy style bag – overall a fab beginners set. Should prob also mention they’re only £7.99 in Superdrug right now. I know. Just yes.

I Need To Unplug – Journal

20161026_131026-01

Another little Home Sense gem. In a nutshell, it’s a journal meant for tugging you away from technology. We’re all guilty of  either checking social media every half hour/ten mins/30 secs, over-playing Pokemon Go, Whatsapping the night away, watching three seasons in a row on Netflix or surfing Amazon for American Candy (that last one just me then?) and ending up with frazzled eye balls and a mind buzzing with an overload of information. Do that often enough, and it gets a bit much, right?

So this journal kinda says to you to put the phone/laptop etc down, take a break from the digital world, and pick up a pen. It encourages ‘going off-the-grid in order to actually experience people and emotions and breathing and the lost art of messy human handwriting even if it’s only for a few minutes at a time‘ – so that’s exactly what I’ve been doing. Rather than skimming through Instagram of an eve, I pick up a pen and jot down any thoughts swimming around my noggin, in an effort to hit the pillow and be able to sleep with my mind a little lighter. It’s a start. Plus it can be healthy to have that paper friend to go to, to just be you; spelling mistakes, rants, an all.

It can be so easy to get sucked into a cyber reality and forget to live more physically. I for one realised since having this book, that I spend more time looking at a screen than I do looking up. & when the world is so big and so full of things to look at, I find myself thinking back to a time where I grew up playing outside and interacting without any kind of gadgetry. I miss those tech-free days, and I’m going to make a conscious effort to peel myself away from the small screen and see the bigger picture. 

Thank you, little journal.

 Til next time,

http-signatures-mylivesignature-com-54494-355-4f5963f54c5592ff541aa0878ca957e3

Leave a Reply

