2016: My Year in Pictures

 

20161211_145753-01

Can you actually believe that this year is LITERALLY about to end? Like, I swear five minutes ago it was April.

WTF.

Anyway it wasn’t, January is looming *shudders*, and I wanted to take the opportunity to look back at 2016 for me. It was not my favourite year. In fact, it was chock full of negativity and sh*t and there were genuinely times I could’ve done a Sleeping Beauty and gone to sleep for a good hundred years.

However.

I refuse to sit here and be a negative ninny & moan about what a terrible year I had;  I’m embracing, the ‘I don’t lose‘ attitude. I either win or I learn. I feel like you get to a certain age or a point in your life where you’re like…actually, rather than be defeated by that, I’m gonna learn from it – & I’m gonna be better for it. I really believe that. Learning to grow from something negative or horrible can only be good for you – you become stronger. 

Plus I made some amazing memories this year & had some wonderful times – so in no chronological order, here are some of my fave pictures from 2016 and the story behind them.

Holiday in Dartmouth, Devon.

Ok there are like a bajillion photos that I love from this holiday, but by far I think this was my favourite day out. We went to a place called Lydford Gorge which is run by the National Trust. It’s like a nature lover’s paradise (YASS) – lots of trees, walks, rivers, wildlife and as you can see ^^ a 30m waterfall called the ‘White Lady’. I just loved it. My little dwarf legs were feeling it the next day, but it was soo worth it.

Working at Hampton Court Palace.

20160429_140223

 

Yup. I worked there ^. I still can’t believe I did. I’ve never felt more lucky or more privileged to be somewhere in my life – & I’ll never forget it. Oh & throw in that I’m a history student and LOVE the Tudors, then you can imagine all the feels. Sadly it was only a temp position, so I don’t work there anymore. But I’ll be back. *Arnold Schwarzenegger impression on point*

Running with my Dad at the London Marathon.

20160424_150521

 

Ok I didn’t actually run the London Marathon persay, I went to watch & cheer my Dad on, who’s run marathons now for a good few years. It makes me incredibly proud and actually a little emotional because I’m so proud of him. I was waiting about 20 minutes from the finish line, and I’d been tracking him on my phone & watching out for him for about an hour, when all of a sudden I saw him! I nearly lost my voice shouting out so that he’d see me, & he did! He’d pulled his calf a little and was really struggling – he came over and squeezed me tight & I told him I loved him. I’m almost crying just talking about this! Anyway *pull it together Katie*, I watched him disappear around a bend and OUT OF NOWHERE (I even shocked myself) I bounded off through the crowds – like literally sprinting along the side of the track – forgetting how unfit I am, til I could see him again. I got to a barrier just as he was about to go past and called out to him. He saw me, I gave him the fattest cuddle & told him he was nearly there.

This photo was just after that moment.

I held a frigging snake.

 

20160710_131950

This is one of about ten photos where I don’t look like I’m sh*tting myself! I completely spontaneously, out of nowhere decided I’d hold a snake when at this fayre thing. I’ve never had a phobia of snakes – spiders have always scared me more – but this was a big deal. I mean look at it.

Though as snakes go, I feel like this one was kinda…pretty? It reminded me of the one used by Britney Spears for ‘Slave 4U’! I feel like this photo means a lot to me because I proved to myself I can be braver than I give myself credit.

Oh & did I mention it wrapped it’s tail around my ankle? Uh-huh.

He graduated.

20160913_111343

He makes me proud no matter what he does – but this was such a day. I cried.

…Mostly because those shoes were a killer but obvs because I was proud too. Obvs.

Laughs with my two favourite people.

20161225_150713-01

I bloody love them two. I may as well live with my Grandparents for how much I’m with them! We drink tea in abundance, watch black and white films and talk til the cows come home. & I love it! They’ve really been there for me this year.

Doing more of what I love.

Yep…incase you hadn’t guessed it, I LOVE nature and I LOVE photography. I feel like this is the first year I’ve really taken the time to embrace both and encourage myself to spend more time outdoors. I’ve said it before & I’ll say it again; nature is therapy. & photography captures that.

Days out & weekends away

I’ve been lucky enough to have some amazing days out – if you live near Kent, go & visit Hever Castle. It’s my favourite place in the world & I’ve definitely been about twelve times (I’m just gonna set up camp there at this rate..).

I’ve enjoyed woodland walks, where my boyfriend & I carved our initials into a tree; I had a weekend down the seaside with my best pal where a caterpillar got lost in my cleavage (just don’t); I went strawberry & raspberry picking and got lost in the tallest sunflower field you ever did see! I drank a tad too much rum with my Grandad & woke the neighbours up singing along to the Kinks. I watched starry nights, sunrises and sunsets and I loved it all.

The best times.

There are so many pics I could’ve popped in, but this post is already lengthy enough, and I commend you if you’ve stuck with me this far!!

What are your favourite memories of this year?! Please do comment below, I would love to hear your stories.

Til next time…

http-signatures-mylivesignature-com-54494-355-4f5963f54c5592ff541aa0878ca957e3

Find me on Instagram: @katscarlettj 

5 thoughts on “2016: My Year in Pictures

  1. I lovee seeing people sum up their year in pictures, I always find it fun and interesting to see what people did with their year but its so crazy how the year just comes and goes. Love the picture of you holding the snake, very Britney Spears-esq lol so fierce! Also those sunflowers you picked!!! HEART EYES I love nothing more than sunflowers! Great trip down memory lane!!

    xo, JJ

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yay! Aww thank you JJ, really lovely to see your words, I’m still amazed people read what I write lol, I literally just babble! OMG that snake was soo big. You know when you do something and you’re like…waaait. What am I doing? Oh too late, big ass snake around my neck :/ haha xxx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

