Hopes for 2017

20170102_095759-01

So normally, I would get to the start of a new year, screw my nose up and swear that making resolutions was a waste of time. HOWEVER, in the aftermath of 2016, I feel like I want to pen my hopes, at best. Just things that I can work towards, have in my sights, but without the pressure of calling them resolutions. If that makes sense?

20170105_090525-01

The bigger things:

– I want to make peace with the universe – I’ve spent too long being angry/frustrated for one reason or another. Espesh about things that have passed/are in the past. What is the frigging point? Letting things go is healthy and logical, but apparently alien to me! Must work on that.

– If you’ve read any of my mental health blogs (thank you, they’re lengthy!), you’ll know I suffer with depression/anxiety. I’m already better than I was; I only have to compare myself to this time last year. I just want to keep getting better. I may never shift it completely, but if I can keep learning to manage it then… magic. Paramount is getting back out into the world again – I’ve been my own prisoner for too long now.

– Love myself a little better – I realised just recently that I pretty much didn’t give a sh*t about myself last year. I left it a good 9 months til I got my hair cut, I didn’t eat and when I did it was unhealthy; I did barely any exercise, my skin suffered. BAD. So 2017 above all else has to be the year I start to love myself again.

*Got my hair cut yesterday, also bought Women’s Health which I’m counting as step 1 of getting fit…that counts right?

20170120_091628-01

 The smaller things:

– Blog blog bloggity blog! God I love this so much. & I’ve already spoken to so many lovely people in the space of the few months I’ve had this. I want to grow this & grow with it, and I feel like 2017 is the year for blossoming!

– I reeeeeally want to read more – I used to go through books like dinners when I was younger, so I’m aiming for at best, a book a month. I’m really keen to read the classics, Jekyll & Hyde, Jane Eyre, a spot o’ Dickens!

–  Practice more of what I love – as you may have guessed I love taking photos. I also love being outdoors, little adventures & discovering beautiful little patches of the world. More of that pls.

– I have a bucket list, quite a lengthy one tbh with you, one which I’ve toyed with the idea of sticking on here – I may do it yet! But I’d like to do more out of my comfort zone; last year I held a snake and an owl (snake – self explanatory, bird – WHY DO THEY FLAP THO), this year, I want to hold a spider (BIIIIIG phobia), bungee jump or SOMETHING that normal Katie would never do. & I want to do lots of it. Basically, do something(s) magic.

Do you have hopes or resolutions for this year? Please pop them below! I’d love to know! Thank you for sticking with me, and here’s to 2017!

Til next time…

http-signatures-mylivesignature-com-54494-355-4f5963f54c5592ff541aa0878ca957e3

 

31 thoughts on “Hopes for 2017

  1. I think that setting these kind of goals are inevitably WAY more tangible and I do just the same. I don’t set specific things but things I want to do and work on and better myself. All the points you hit are perfect and certainly some of which I want to focus on doing too in 2017! Great post and ideas Katie!!!

    xo, JJ

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I agree! Plus I feel like it’s all about bettering who you are, rather than tryna become someone new, right?! I wish you the best for your 2017 goals, we can rock it! Thank you for reading lovely 🙂 K xx

      Like

    1. Ditto, and I wish you all the luck in the world (not that you need it!) plus it’s been lovely to meet you on this blogging journey! 🙂 Haha I’m gonna need it, me and spiders have NEVER gotten on!! xxxx

      Like

      1. Same here – I haven’t run in a very long time – my first one since last summer is tomorrow morning, bet you anything I’ll die! Ooh good idea! I have a workout playlist on everything – lots of fast-paced and fun music is the best! xx

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I run around my area – I live opposite Lloyd Park, but if you want to go for a run with me I can come to you if it makes you feel better? Don’t worry – I am in terrible shape, never mind the fact I play rugby, I can’t maintain a pace if my life depended on it! xx

        Like

    1. Oh wow this is incredible! I’m really touched, thank you so much – means the world 🙂 & thank you for reading! I’m not gonna lie, I pretty much feel like I babble my way through this lol. I wish you the happiest 2017 x x x x

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Resolutions are only a waste of time if you don’t stick to them – you need to believe you can achieve all of them. Your goal of making peace with the universe is beautiful and I think more people, including myself need to make a similar goal. Lovely post – I’m so happy I just found your blog! Already followed can’t wait for future posts x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I completely agree with you! That’s why I thought I’d write down more realistic goals for myself. Everythings achievable if you want it enough right?! Thank you SO much for stopping by, it means the world. Hope to keep in contact! x

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi Katie,
    I’ve recently made a wordpress account and came across this blog post. I have to say I’m glad I did. You seem like a wonderful soul and the way you express your feelings through your blog posts allow your readers a chance to relate to you. As one that also deals with anxiety and depression, your goals for 2017 are similar to mine. Loving myself is one of my major goals, one that can be terribly hard for me. I know that we all have good and bad days, but just know I have no doubt in my mind that you will achieve your goals both the big and the small.
    If you ever need to vent or just to chat, don’t be shy to reach out! 🙂
    Xoxo, Cecilia

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Cecilia, I can’t tell you what it means to read your words – I remember being so bloody frightened when I first started writing about mental health! It’s been one of the best things I’ve done, especially when it means I get to speak to people like you. So, THANK YOU. & I hope you achieve your goals too – we’re in this together! The offer of reaching out goes both ways – I wish you the happiest 2017 🙂 Katie x x x

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I hope you get to meet your goals! Its a tough road but I bet you’ll get there. I have some pretty deep issues with my mental illness as well. Sometimes I feel like I have to start over and over again with my goals maybe this year we will both get it right!! Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, and thank you so much for reading this – it means a lot! I know what you mean, it’s a bit like you’re an elastic band isn’t it? You get so far then you’re sorta pinged back. I really, really hope this is your year though, and that you achieve what you want to! We’re in this together after all! I wish you luck and love xx

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, I’m definitely working on it! Not sure I’ll get there, but it’s nice to put down goals for the record and have something to go for – I really hope you’re able to tick things off your list too – life’s too short not to do the things we really want to do, after all. 🙂 Sending love xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

