Tips on Dealing with Blogger’s Block.

 

20161230_224925-01
Note: This is an old pic, I definitely do not still have my Christmas tree up. Sad face.

Yep, what a pain in the neck.

I genuinely feel like I’ve frazzled my brain in the last few days, sitting in front of this computer screen, working out how to actually write. You know when you just feel blank and like you’ve forgotten how to coherently string a sentence together? & when you’ve actually got so much to say but at the same time…nothing?

I’ve been so insecure over it. I just wanted to write! I missed Monday’s blog post, and it got me thinking – instead of sitting here being upset that I for some reason can’t write at the moment, why don’t I think about what might help. So I did!

Here are some tips:

  • Step away from your laptop/phone/tablet/technological device. Or pen & paper for that matter! Staring blankly at a screen ala yours truly, won’t get you anywhere. In fact it’ll most likely make you more frustrated and you’ll remain uninspired.
  • Go for a walk: Get some fresh air, take in your surroundings and relax. There is no pressure. I know I’m one to talk, I put so much pressure on myself at times I might just explode. But, don’t. Just take it easy. Immerse yourself in nature. Go to a park, listen to the birds chattering, buy some daffodils, plant some of your own bulbs – green is supposed to be a therapeutic colour and being around nature is ‘ecotherapy’ – basically, it’s good for you. So do it. Equally, if you live by the sea, go watch the waves a while. It’s all about taking stress away and giving your mind a break.You’ll find once you’ve eased up on yourself and chilled out a little, it’ll come to you.

img_20160419_202629

  • It’s ok not to be a perfectionist: At least you don’t have to be one all the time. Whatever you want to write about, at best just scrawl it down or write it in note form then come back to it later and dress it up.
  • Don’t compare yourself to others – that’s just asking to feel insecure! Just because one person might be cracking out the blogs the same days every week and they’re amazing, it doesn’t mean they don’t struggle. You do things at your pace; if you have to miss a week or two, so be it. It doesn’t matter. I’d personally rather wait til I’ve got something I’m sure I want to write about, then write something I’m not proud of and I don’t care about.
  • Stop thinking about it for a while. This is springing off my point earlier about going for a walk – but distract yourself with something – anything! Just take your mind off it; go for a run, go do some yoga, bake a cake, listen to your iPod, clean your bedroom, do your washing, have coffee with a friend, anything! You’ll come back fresher for it.
  • Have a look at what other bloggers are writing about – it might inspire something in you that you hadn’t yet thought about. Equally there are posts out there specifically designed to give you ideas of what to write about, so have a gander!
  • Do you need to change your environment? If you’re constantly surrounded by noise, it might be an idea to find somewhere to write where it’s a little quieter, enabling you to concentrate better.

img_20160501_120212

  • & finally, something I stumbled across the other day, was ‘freewriting’ – in other words, just let your fingers or your pen take the lead. Let your thoughts splatter on the page, whether it’s nonsense or whatever, just write whatever pops into your head, it doesn’t have to make sense. Forget that niggly little voice in your head telling you this is crap, nobody will read this, I’m pants at writing. Just write. You may find something sprinkle on to the page that you didn’t expect, and voila, you have something to write about!

I really hope you find these tips helpful, especially if you’re going through a spot of blogger’s/writer’s block just now; keep at it & don’t be so hard on yourself.

If you have any extra tips, please do share them below!

Big kisses,

http-signatures-mylivesignature-com-54494-355-4f5963f54c5592ff541aa0878ca957e3

Come find me on Instagram – @katscarlettj

4 thoughts on “Tips on Dealing with Blogger’s Block.

  1. I love the idea of free writing just letting your thoughts flow, its so relaxing. But this post is so helpful, I’m usually way prepared and have topics listed out in my planner for 1-2 weeks ahead, I’m always spontaneously changing them but there are some days that I just have nothing and have to think of things on the spot and completely freeze up and have nothing…. These ideas are so helpful it does make sense to just step away from it, do something else in the meantime and then regroup; some of the best post ideas come about that way!

    xo, JJ

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Me too!! I feel like you have to allow yourself to become quite relaxed…like at one with yourself sorta thing?! To truly let your thoughts flow..like I struggle to relax sometimes so that’s a challenge, but still so interesting! You’re way ahead of me with a planner, I might have to follow your lead I think! I kinda have scribbles over two notebooks..haha! :/ thank you for reading!! Hope you had a lovely time in Miami, your pics on Insta were gorgeous! xx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

