Recipe: Mary Berry’s Banana Loaf

20170131_123751-01

Oo this is new! A recipe on the blog?! Chef Katie, at your service.

Ok, I’m not gonna lie, it’s all Mary Berry (all hail) – well the recipe is anyway, but I did make this just last week and OMG, it was glorious. I figured it’d be too good not to share with you, and if you’re anything like me and never able to finish a whole bunch of bananas in the week, then it’s a great way to use those last few up that may be going a little brown.

It really did turn out beautiful. Particularly good when warm, it’s actually so easy to make; I kinda love that with a lot of Mary Berry’s bakes, it’s a case of just chucking everything in the bowl, mix it up, pop it in a tin and voila, you are with cake.

20170131_111459

Ingredients:

  • 100g Softened Butter
  • 175g Caster Sugar
  • 2 Large Eggs
  • 2 Ripe Bananas (mashed) (It says ripe here, but like I said, if they’re just starting to go brown, that’s fine! They work out magic for me.)
  • 225g Self Raising Flour
  • 1 tsp. Baking Powder
  • 2 tbsp. Milk

Method:
1. Preheat the oven to 180C / Fan 160C / Gas 4.
2. Lightly grease a 2lb loaf tin, then line the base and sides with baking parchment
3. Measure all ingredients into a mixing bowl and beat for about 2 minutes, until well blended
4. Spoon the mixture into the tin and level the surface
5. Bake in the pre-heated oven for about 1 hour, until well risen and golden brown.  A fine skewer inserted in the centre should come out clean if the loaf is ready.
6. Leave to cool in the tin for a few minutes, then turn out, peel of the parchment and finish cooling on a wire rack.

20170131_123658

I’m genuinely so excited to make this again. Probably this week.

Maybe even with some chocolate chips thrown in.

Yep, healthy eating is going just marvellous, ta Mary Berry.

Let me know if you’re a fan and definitely let me know if you give this a go!

Big kisses,

http-signatures-mylivesignature-com-54494-355-4f5963f54c5592ff541aa0878ca957e3

Come find me on Instagram: @katscarlettj

 

10 thoughts on “Recipe: Mary Berry’s Banana Loaf

  1. How perfect, I just bought bananas earlier this past weekend and their just starting to go real soft- I was debating on doing either banana bread or cupcakes but this one looks REALLY good. Whats caster sugar? Is that a brand?

    xo, JJ

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Caster Sugar is a sugar we use here in the UK like specifically for baking! It’s finer than our granulated sugar so easier to use. DEFINITELY make it or make those cupcakes and blog about them!! Thank you for reading this 🙂 xx

      Like

    1. Thank you!! I don’t feel like it’s the prettiest cake but it definitely tasted yummy (just toot my own horn!) – let me know if you make it, and I hope you have the loveliest birthday celebrations! xx

      Like

  2. I am always searching for the perfect recipe to use up the bananas I can’t seem to get through fast enough. This is wonderful! Thank you for sharing! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aw thank you, and you’re so welcome! I’m exactly the same, start off so healthy eating just the bananas…then they miraculously turn into banana loaf and…yep, haha! Tastes good though, let me know if you have a crack at it! 🙂 x

      Like

Leave a Reply

