Stop Body Shaming (& all hail Lady Gaga!)

Body shaming. To me, it’s bizarre. Whether it’s body shaming ourselves and being forever critical of how we look; or the media constantly cooking up images of the ‘perfect body’ and shoving weight loss tips in our faces, or slogans that offer ‘immediate’ results for your ‘imperfections’, or someone just being plain old mean. Well, I’m sorry, whoever said you and I weren’t perfect? Why are there set bodies that we should have, or certain physiques or outfits we should wear for that matter?

This might seem a bit of a random subject for me to tackle this week, but in fact it’s not random at all – though it is a post I hadn’t planned on writing – it comes after watching the absolute goddess that is Lady Gaga perform at the Super Bowl this past Sunday. Anybody who’s anybody watched her kill it (if you haven’t seen it yet, YOUTUBE ASAP) and I for one was in complete awe of her. I’ve loved her since day one and f*ck me does she work hard. I’ve got so much respect for the fact that she’s relentless in giving every last piece of herself to her fans, and there’s not yet been a performance of hers that I’ve seen and not been bowled over by.

Image result for lady gaga super bowl 2017

So WHY in the aftermath of such an incredible performance on Sunday was she being body shamed? I literally couldn’t believe what I was reading; there were people saying she had a ‘pot belly’ and a ‘flabby belly’, and she got trolled for being ‘fat’.

I mean, WTF.

Image result for lady gaga super bowl 2017

Apart from the fact she clearly isn’t fat, why the hell does it matter even if she was? Why are we judged so much by our weight? How is it ok for somebody to sit behind a computer screen and troll somebody for the way they look? *NEWSFLASH* It’s not.

Image result for lady gaga super bowl 2017 with dancers

I felt really incensed to speak up about this, not just because it’s completely unfair and an act of stupidity, but also because I realised I body shame myself pretty much all the time. I’m pretty sure we all do. I look in the mirror and I’m looking for something to dislike. I could tell you right now that I don’t like my teeth, my legs or my arms. I wish my boobs were bigger and honestly, my stomach could be flatter. I’ll compare myself to somebody else with bigger boobs and toned legs and think…damn, like why don’t look like that.

Then there of course is TV/social media/magazines/celebrities and the opinions or criticism from each other that implies we should want to change; that we really ought to give a f*ck about being slimmer, bigger or more toned. You’ve only got to think back to school and kids picking on others because they’re ‘too fat’ or ‘too tall’. I bet if we were all honest we’d admit to body shaming somebody before. Point is, it’s not ok to judge anybody for how they look, not ever. 

 We should be taught from the earliest age to celebrate everything that we are, body and soul. I hate that we live in a society where people shoot others down for the way they look, for their weight, for how big their feet are or how small their boobs are. It doesn’t affect your life, that somebody else might have big legs. So why pass comment on it? Focus on you, because chances are you wouldn’t like it if somebody did it to you.

With that I am all for learning to embrace myself as I am, & I ask you to join me and embrace YOU for who YOU are.Try to surround yourself with people who are body positive and those who love themselves as they are – and if you really want to change how you look, do it for you; don’t do it based on what society dictates or because somebody says it should be so. Build others up around you too; we need more people to shout out that it’s ok to love your body as it is.

Be you, and be relentlessly you, that’s the stuff of champions.” – Lady Gaga

Image result for lady gaga super bowl 2017

Please do comment below your thoughts on this subject – I’m sure I’m not alone!

Thank you for reading, and all hail Gaga. God I love her.

Big kisses,

http-signatures-mylivesignature-com-54494-355-4f5963f54c5592ff541aa0878ca957e3

Come find me on Instagram! @katscarlettj

11 thoughts on “Stop Body Shaming (& all hail Lady Gaga!)

  1. Love this post!!! I hate that everyone is body shaming her – aside from the fact that she has an amazing figure, she’s already struggled so badly with image issues that I doubt she needs this. I mean she is a confident, amazing energy on stage which would suggest she can handle it but you never know how it makes her feel out of the limelight! This post was definitely needed 🙂 xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you!! Yes I definitely felt like wanted to say something, I couldn’t believe what people were saying about her! & you’re right, she’s had to deal with so much so I feel like she must struggle, she’s only human :/ I just love her! Thank you for reading this!! xx

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Well said! You’re so right, people are so superficial! I mean nobody should care about what you look like! We’re not on this planet to LOOK good or even perfect, we’re here to DO things. I hate this pressure, I feel it often, because I compare far too much! I think it’s important to feel good in your body. But that’s different for everyone of us!
    love, elena

    outnaboutweb.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Loved this post! Body-shaming seriously grinds me, all bodies are beautiful, and it’s crazy to think people could say this about Gaga! I’d love to look like that, but great post really enjoyed reading 😊 x

    Liked by 1 person

  4. You took the words right out of my mouth. Its unbelievable that people are that obsessed with body images- just let us live. Gaga had such an amazing and impressive performance, shes a musician why are we critiquing her body figure…she has one of the healthiest, realest bodies these days! People are nuts.

    xo, JJ

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

