Birthday Burgers & Spring Blooms

First up, apologies if you’ve commented on my previous post(s) and I’ve not yet gotten back to you – I’m an appalling texter so it would have been a miracle if I was a great commenter-backer (it’s a thing) – I was away last weekend, and I haven’t been very well this week, so bear with me! I thought I’d share with you a little of what I got up to for the first weekend of March – the biggie being that my lovely boyfriend turned 26 on Monday!

My in-laws own a caravan down the coast & so we zoomed off down there on Friday arvi with the kitchen sink in tow (apparently I can’t pack light). I always get so excited by roadtrips – it takes us about an hour and a half to get to the van, and the majority of the journey is pretty and scenic, so it’s not long before I’m all giddy about the miles of green fields and seeing the roads lined with daffodils.

20170306_144714

We had a few drinks on arrival – a Guinness please kind sir – and took in the serenity that only being near the sea can offer. Serenity that lasted pretty much until we were laying in bed at night and the whole van started to rock! The weather was shocking. Heavy rain and blustery sea winds meant that the caravan felt like it might lift off at times. However, it didn’t, we’re still here (so’s the van) and we woke up to blue skies.

20170304_210144

Everything was just chilled. When I’m at home, I don’t always feel that way; that’s owing to what I suffer with, but also the fact that I’ve never been a city girl. I find freedom in the fields and the sea, so I always try to breathe a little deeper and take stock of my surroundings when I’m away. We enjoyed some more drinks on Saturday night, before waking up on Sunday morn to yet more rain and hailstones; like chunky butt hailstones, the kind you ought to take shelter from because you fear for your head and other important body parts.

20170305_132408-01

20170305_134401

Once again though, it brightened up for us & we were able to venture around a gorgeous town called Chichester – I’ve been going there since I was a child, but it never gets old – plus there’s a whacking great cathedral that I’ve been forever in love with & always  try to visit because…well, just because. We bought frozen Millie’s Cookies from Iceland to bake at home, and watched the last of Poldark on Netflix. We also spent the weekend in and out of the caravan site’s jacuzzi/gym/sauna and steam room which was laaaavely. I always feel better for a gym/jacuzzi sesh, though I think I’ll give the steam room a miss next time, not a fan. 

20170304_162720

We popped to GBK – The Gourmet Burger Kitchen –  for my boyfriend’s birthday dindins; neither of us had been there before and it felt only right to lose our GBK virginity together! We loved it. I had a regular beef burger with garlic mayo & their signature skinny fries (they were crazy skinny!) whilst S had a bacon & avocado double beef burger with sweet potato fries and baconnaise.

IMG_20170307_112008_397-01

We really did have the loveliest day. Unfortunately neither of us have a lot of money at the mo, so we were unable to really go ham for his birthday – but I’ve decided that this was only part one of his birthday, and part two is to come. He’s not complaining, double birthday celebobs! Who says that you can only celebrate on one day anyway? Stretch it out, I say!

Safe to say, ofc, that I may have discovered a garden centre abundant with Spring blooms. I lost my shit in a v lady-like way (as you do) and didn’t look like a total dork taking photos of all the blossoming flowers. Also, I love my phone’s camera. 

I guess what I haven’t really said, is how bloody amazing it was just to be with S. Just having that quality time to laugh/chill and be silly without the worry of anything else was lovely. More of that pls.

I hope you all had a lovely weekend, and HAVE a lovely weekend to come!

Tell me what you’ve been up to, and I promise I will endeavor to improve my commenting back!

Big kisses,

http-signatures-mylivesignature-com-54494-355-4f5963f54c5592ff541aa0878ca957e3

Come find me on Instagram! @katscarlettj

13 thoughts on “Birthday Burgers & Spring Blooms

  1. The idea of getting to travel in a caravan sounds so fun (just as long as I’m not the one driving ha) but how cool minus the crazy rain you guys got at first. Chichester looks so beautiful I seriously love the architecture of the buildings over there, they’re so vintage and so completely different than the what I’m used to seeing. You captured such pretty photos, is that all from your phone or is that a camera because thats really good quality! Lastly, You and your bf are so adorable, you are so stunning esp with that lip color I love it!!! And happy birthday to him!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha I’d had to drive one too! Luckily the one we go to is like static – although it definitely moved when the wind blew at night!! You’re right, it’s one of the things I love about the UK actually, we’ve got such beautiful historic buildings! Thank you, lol yep all from my phone, I upgraded to the Samsung Galaxy S7 recently and the camera on it is something else, so much better than the S5! Aww thank you so much, you’re way too sweet, it’s all the makeup!! & he says thank you! 🙂 Hope you’re well, sorry I’m such a rubbish replier, I will get better!! Big kisses x x x

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Those burgers sound yummy 🙂 I’m glad you guys had a good time, jacuzzi’s are so relaxing :). I saw the movie Hidden Figures recently with a friend and loved it. I also went hiking not too long ago with the same friend and tried a couple new places so it’s been nice :).

    Liked by 1 person

    1. They were SO good!! Oo Hidden Figures yes, I’ve heard good things about that! Would you recommend it? I’m genuinely so excited for the new Beauty & the Beast to come out, some good films this year! Glad you’re loving the hiking, wish I had more places to do that where I live! xx

      Like

      1. Definitely! I loved it so much I wouldn’t mind watching it again. Yeah there are a lot of great movies coming out this year it’s awesome :). The new beauty and the beast movie looks really good. Thank you! and maybe that means you have an opportunity to go venture out to places you haven’t really been before 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

