Why Hever Castle Will Always Be My Happy Place

20170514_143115-01

Everyone needs a happy place, right? Whether it’s home, a holiday destination, your friend’s/nan’s/mum’s place, a park, a beach or – in my case – a castle, everybody needs one. It gives us sanctuary when we need it, somewhere to just be and a while to gather ourselves and thoughts together…at least that’s what Hever does for me.

20170514_145240-01

It’s no secret that I’m a HUGE history buff and castles are definitely my thing; Hever is somewhere I’ve been visiting since I can remember and honestly I get there, and I feel like I’ve come home. It’s magic. 

20170514_145322(0)-01

20170514_145501

Hever Castle & Gardens is in Edenbridge, Kent – ‘The Garden of England‘. I’m not gonna give you a history lesson on it but what I will tell you is that it was the childhood home of one Anne Boleyn, the doomed second wife of King Henry VIII, whom I’m sure you will have heard of! The Tudors are one of my absolute favourite periods of English history.

20170514_133857-01

20170514_164558-01

Hever isn’t a huge castle, not compared to the likes of Buck Palace, but it does have a certain quaint charm to it – and the gardens – the gardens are to die for. As you may already know, I’m a huge nature/flower lover, and let me tell you Hever is home to the most stunning blooms and gardens. In fact I think it’s what I look forward to the most when I visit, the idea that I can wander through the rose garden, or the Italian garden, or trail the rhododendron walk gets me all gooey inside. It’s just insanely aesthetically pleasing.

20150525_134845

20150808_174355

20150808_174523

20140517_171229

…Not to mention the fact that there are stunning Italian sculptures, water features – a lake that you can take a boat trip on or hire a rowing boat yourself – a maze, archery, nature walks, and a moat that’s home to very friendly (and hungry!) ducks and swans! Oh and I would be doing you a disservice if I didn’t mention how freaking good the ice cream is there – seriously, one scoop is the equivalent of two, so imagine when my boyfriend asked for two, the mountain of ice cream before him! Oh and a flake please, duh.

20170514_151243-01

20150525_140813

Hever to me, is just… home. I don’t know any other way to put it. I get there and I feel this ability to finally breathe. My mental health often makes me feel isolated and as though I haven’t a place that I can just take a moment – it also makes me feel like I can’t relax anywhere; I’m always so tense. But on the odd occasion that I get to go and be at Hever, I instantly feel relaxed. It’s peaceful, even on it’s busiest days. It’s unquestionably beautiful and it opens my eyes a little to the fact that there is a world outside my door – I think we all need a reminder like that once in a while?

20140517_161035

20140517_171721

20160605_162109

I feel like it’s so important to have somewhere you can call a happy place. Let me know in the comments below what your happy place is, and definitely let me know if you’ve been to Hever before! I’ll leave the link to the website below if you’d like to check it out. 🙂

20160605_155222

https://www.hevercastle.co.uk/

Big kisses,

http-signatures-mylivesignature-com-54494-355-4f5963f54c5592ff541aa0878ca957e3

Come find me on Instagram: @katscarlettj and Twitter: @katiessanctuary

6 thoughts on “Why Hever Castle Will Always Be My Happy Place

  1. So much to say!!! Firstly I’d never even heard of Hever Castle until now but your post has got me desperate to visit, after I comment here I’m heading straight to their website. Like how cool this place was the childhood home of Anne Boleyn, thas fascinating! And the stunning gardens, and the fact you can hire rowing boats!? Yes please!! And how can I not mention that ice cream, delicious orrrr!!? I need to go to this place now! I definitely agree with you that happy places are so important, I think my happy place would 100% have to be Surrey where I was born, St Anns Hill especially ❤️ Have you ever been? I loved this post hun!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. You definitely 100% have to go haha! It’s honestly so freaking beautiful, you know when you go somewhere and feel like complete zen?! It’s magic! Yes the rowing boats are brill, though I’m a shite rower – if the idea was to go round in circles I’d be a pro!! Surrey is so beaut, are you far from Dorking?! There are some pretty stunning views there! I’ve never been to St Anns Hill no, I’ve just googled it and it looks like there are beaut views there too?! I’m all about the views!! Thanks so much for reading 🙂 xx

      Like

    2. WOW Katie, it’s incredible and so majestic. I can definitely understand why you wouldn’t want to leave. I need to add this to my list of places to visit. As a fellow flower lover this will be an ideal place to visit. My happy place for now is my bed in my room but my nearby park where I exercise is a happy place of mine as well.

      Like

  2. So I left a really long comment on this and I don’t think it posted so I’ll try again 😫 Firstly this place looks incredible, until this post I’d never even heard of Hever Castle but now its a must on my bucket list. I just checked out the ticket prices over on their website and they’re so cheap! If I can find the time to go this year I so will. I find it so fascinating that this is the childhood home of Anne Boleyn, like how cool to be there where she actually grew up!? The nature is just so beautiful, your pictures are gorgeous and I would have to hire a rowing boat if I visited, that would be my main priority. Don’t even get me started on that ice cream… Yum! I definitely agree with you that happy places are so important. My happy place would have to be Surrey where I was born, especially St Anns Hill ❤️ Have you ever been? I loved this post hun!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Wow that looks like a fantasy magical kingdom location! I NEED TO GO THERE! The beautiful green lush grass and I love the cute little bridge with the willow trees! Beautiful place. PS Ill gladly take that ice cream off your hands for you 😉 YUM!!!

    xo, JJ

    Like

  4. This looks likes an absolute dream! How amazing! I am so envious of castles and the history Europeans have held onto. All too often in the U.S. we just tear things down and put something modern up. It pains me because there is just something magical about these historical sites. I hope to make it over some day and walk through these beautiful places so I can experience the wonders and allure of it all. For now, my happy place in in the midst of my garden mid-summer. If that is not an option, I choose a walk in the woods. It is therapeutic and calming to just be surrounded by nature! ~Anne

    Like

Leave a Reply

