My Mental Health: May Reflection

20160731_121854

So…May was a bit of a mixed bag. I’m not gonna lie, I’m pretty much always up and down nowadays anyway – it’s actually what I say if someone asks how I am now ‘I’m a bit up and down, call me yoyo girl’. I feel like it’s BS to be like ‘oh yeah, I’m fine!’..like unless I actually am fine, in which case I guess that’d be…fine? I think what I’m trying to say is I’m owning my feelings. If I feel shit, I say it – if I’m low/tired/scared/paranoid/fed up/under-motivated/ok/getting there/not sure/numb/happy – whatever – I just say it out loud and like it is now. I feel like that’s part of the battle, y’know? Accepting that sometimes, it is what it is. I feel like the whole time I’m pretending to feel something I don’t or I’m ignoring what I feel, I’m not doing myself any favours; I’m one of life’s truest ‘bottlers’ – I bottle stuff up til I’m blue in the face, and I think it’s partly because I pretend I’m ok or whatever, and partly because I don’t feel like I can talk about stuff or always have someone to talk to. The only thing with bottling things up is, eventually that bottle will be full. Then what? It’s just not healthy.

So as well as just being honest about how I’ve been feeling, I spent a lot of May focusing on self-care. I’ve been exercising more regularly, and get this – I actually enjoy it! Say whaaa. My diet and how little I eat is still a bit of an issue, but I’m trying to make sure I eat three meals which is positive! I’ve taken time to really tend to my skin and hair – I’ve even started painting my nails again. Just silly little things like face masks, reading, looking after my babies (plants, ha), walking in the sun – I guess stuff some people wouldn’t even have to think about, but I’m actually taking the time to enjoy those things again. It’s so easy to get caught up in the snowball of a mental illness that you genuinely forget to just live. 

I owe a lot to my boyfriend – no fear, no sappyness here! Just…I dunno. He’s there. & I think when I’m in the midst of a dark spell or I’m really low etc, he’s what I cling to – like a life raft or something. He’s forever holding me up and taking me steadily back to shore, reassuring me that I won’t sink, telling me to keep kicking my legs no matter what. Sometimes I feel like I might take for granted that that life raft is actually a human, and I’ve been trying my hardest to be as good to him as he is to me. I’m soo lucky.

1620781_10153749544585634_344022440_n

So my goals for June are…to keep kicking. Learn to swim on my own a little better (hope you’re still following the metaphor here bc I am definitely getting carried away) and keep taking care of myself. I hope May was all sorts of good to you, and that June is sunny and warm wherever you are, & that you have a corker of a month. Tell me what you’ve been up to below! & if you’re in a bit of a fix & suffer with mental illness too, I’m only an email away. In the meantime, selfcare-up.

Big sunshiney snoggingtons,

http-signatures-mylivesignature-com-54494-355-4f5963f54c5592ff541aa0878ca957e3

Come find me on Instagram: @katscarlettj & Twitter: @katiessanctuary

 

9 thoughts on “My Mental Health: May Reflection

  1. I love your reference to being a yo-yo….but totally girl, if your fine than you’re fine and if your not, it is what it is and it’s best to just be true to yourself and your true feelings at that moment of time. No shame in that at all! Also I love your little shout out to your boyfriend that is so sweet, if he’s your life raft and he helps you get through it then you cling on to that like no other 🙂 I’m the same way buttt for as clingy as I am to my boyfriend, I almost wish I could say I had a mental health problem bc I’m just clingy af ha. But Im certain your boyfriend feels as happy and lucky to have you too!!!!

    xo, JJ

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s totally it isn’t it, what’s the point of pretending to feel ok if you just feel like crap?! Makes no sense! Haha aw thank you, I thought it was a little cheesy and he read it as well like ‘..ah god!’ we’re lucky to have such lovely Bfs aren’t we! But hey I’d say they’re defo lucky to have us y’know! 😀 Thanks so much for reading beautiful girl, hope you’re doing good!! xxxx

      Like

  2. I’m glad that you have a support system katie. Cheers to a better month in June 🙂 & the months following. Transparency is crucial for mental health and I’m glad you have the courage to be honest with yourself and with your loved ones. This month, I’ve been focusing on reading/studying/decorating my room and taking time to explore my city as well as making an effort to be more social lol. It’s a bit of a challenge as an introvert, but I’m making progress.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much Blessing – it’s not always so easy being honest with a mental illness bc it comes with so much like…guilt. Like I don’t wanna bring other people down if I’m down! I’m so glad you’ve been exploring, that’s one of my fave things to do! What are you studying?! I know what you mean, I’m a total introvert too. Would much rather my own company most of the time, but I’m so happy you’re trying to be more of a social butterfly!! Sending lots of love xxx

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m actually studying counseling so in a couple of years I will be a mental health professional :). Yeah lol baby steps, I’ll always be an introvert at heart. Lots of love to you too katie. You are so welcome, it’s not easy, it takes courage but I’m so glad that you did come forward. Your transparency is refreshing.

        Like

  3. Happy to see how far you’ve come – you’re moving to where you need to be. Your blog is so loaded with personality and I’m sure it’s helpful to others as well as yourself. Keep doing what you’re doing!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

