Summer Survival Must Haves!

20170622_111117-01

So following a monster heatwave in the UK last week (we reached highs of 34 degrees!) and with Summer officially upon us, I thought what better time to compile a few bits, bobs and tips that are key to surviving Summer like a pro – some are crucial (eg, keep hydrated) and others are how to look like a bronzed Goddess with some of my fave go-to products – have a squizz through and please feel free to pop your tips, faves and recommendations in the comments below!

Hello Sunshine!

20170622_110606-01

Ok so lets start with something pretty obvious – protect your skin, yo! It’s all well and good to want that tan, but do yourself a favour and pop some sunscreen on beforehand – I didn’t last week and got v burnt shoulders & officially renamed myself Peely McPeelerson because…well I peeled. Ewww. 

I’d particularly recommend the Piz Buin Protect & Cool Mousse – it smells gorge, and the fact that it’s a mousse makes a hell of a difference to the normal sticky/oily feeling you might normally get from other brands! It really settles into your skin and claims to have an ‘icy cool sensation’ – ideal right?! You can find it on offer in ASDA for £5 (normally about £8 everywhere else!).

Coco-cabana!

20170623_090031-01

Ok on the subject of ‘Peely McPeelerson’, lets talk about sun aftercare – aside from the obvious that is actual After Sun Cream (Nivea do a really good one!) or something with a spot of Aloe Vera in it, which is proven to reduce stinging & slow any peeling, I’ve very recently discovered that Coconut Oil is also a very good remedy for sunburn! It’s legit one of the most versatile products out there, and I really found that it worked to soften my skin, reduce peeling & within a matter of days I felt like it had worked it’s magic – also good if you suffer with dry skin generally, FYI! I’ve heard that Sudocrem is pretty good for sunburn too but haven’t tested that myself – let me know if you have and what you thought!

Mama’s know best!

I know this is very popular among Mummy’s the world over, but I really do believe baby wipes solve a multitude of problems! So handy to keep in your bag during Summer, you never know!

Smooth as a baby’s bum!

20170623_091944-01

It really is important to keep your skin hydrated and moisturised during the Summer months – I’ve been using Soap & Glory’s Righteous Butter after shaving, and my boyfriend lives for Johnson’s Baby Soothing Naturals Lotion – both really settle into your skin, smell beautiful and leave you feeling naturally soft.

Now here’s a random one, and I’ll be interested to see how many of you guys are with me on this; baby powder is flipping marvellous for tackling those sweaty patches! I’ve been putting some on before bed as our room is like a hot box, and it really works wonders for combatting sweat or that rotten sticky feeling when the air is heavy and humid.

TOP TIP: My Mum-in-law used baby powder to dust sand off my nephew-in-law at the beach, and it only ruddy worked! The sand basically disappeared (magic!) & it was so much less hassle than using buckets of water etc. Have a go!

Tone, Tone, Tone!

20170529_101718-01

I’ve really found that toners are perfect for easy cleansing – they’re refreshing & actually quite cooling in the warmer weather! I’m living for Garnier right now, so would absolutely recommend you try their range of SkinActive natural toners; I’m using the Honey one for dry to very dry skin, but they also do a Rose Water one for dry & sensitive skin, an Aloe one for Normal to Combination, and a Green Tea one for combination to oily skin. All on offer in Boots right now!

You smell gorrrgeous!

20170623_091435-01

Of course with Summer comes the chance to use all the beaut Summer scented products life has to offer! I recently purchased this Pineapple Shower & Bath Gel from ASDA for a whole £2 (for 500ml!!) and it smells divine!

One of my all time absolute fave Summer smells is Zoella’s Let’s Spritz Body Mist – it’s just the Season in a bottle, & for £8 I can’t get enough! I’ve also been using face masks a little more, particularly those that are hydrating & moisturising like this Manuka Honey one – that said I’d 100% recommend Garnier’s Moisture Bomb Tissue Mask – I’ve shouted about it before, and I’ll shout about it again, these are bloody marvellous! SO rejuvenating.

Arms up!

20170623_091821-01

None of us are immune here – we all need a good deodorant, and this is my go-to! It’s perfect for the Summer, because it seems to really last and… ok, lets just say it, YOU DON’T SMELL FOR AGES. That’s all you want for your armpits right?!

Preppin’ & Primin’

20170622_110843-01

Now I for one wouldn’t go too ham applying lots of makeup on the v hot days – it’s just gonna melt off! That said, on the more bearable Summery days I’ll definitely be reaching for a primer & setting spray to help keep my face in place – I’m currently using L’Oreal Infallible Priming Base & the L’Oreal Infallible Fixing Mist Setting Spray – I’m a bit of a newbie to primers/setting sprays mind, so if you have any recommendations do let me know!

Shimmer me up, buttercup!

20170623_091624-01

swear that Summer brings out the prettiest packaging in Makeup! I’m living for Sleek’s Highlighter Palette in Solstice – you just can’t beat a bit of shimmer! The same can be said for I Heart Makeup’s Summer of Love Triple Baked Bronzer – so pigmented!

Hoola Hoola!

20170623_091716-01

I’ve also been loving Benefit’s Dew the Hoola Liquid Bronzer – it not only gives your face a natural bronzed glow, but it’s subtle/natural and it’s so lightweight on your skin you hardly know it’s there. Plus it smells like holiday… so y’know.. you need it. Oh and can we please talk about the packaging?! *insert heart eyes emoji here*

Handy Bag Lady

20170623_091048-01

Ok so some more practical bits & bobs! I purchased this Disney canvas tote bag from Poundland and it’s so handy! I love that it can be scrunched up into my handbag til I need it, and honestly it’s perfect for beach days, day trips, holidays or any day tbh. Plus if it gets dirty, just chuck it in the wash! Sorted.

Eye love you!

Not to state the obvious here, but sunglasses are always a good idea! I’m a big fan of popping into Primark & getting three different styles for something ridiculous like a fiver, but my boyfriend’s lovingly looked after his Ted Baker aviators for donkeys now – whatever your preference, just protect those eyeballs!

Water baby!

20170623_085649-01 This one can speak for itself really, but STAY HYDRATED! Even if you’re not a big water drinker, why not try a fruit infuser water bottle?! Mine was a tidy £2 from Wilko, and I’m loving chopped strawberries in it at the mo – though I’m itching to try raspberries! You could even try different fruit combos, go bananas!

& that’s all from me, your Summer guru! *ahem* – oh and you’re totally welcome, I know you enjoyed the cheesy titles for each pic, I was clearly on fire today..

Please, as I said, do pop some of your must-dos or recommendations for Summer below, I feel like if we all share our wisdom we can’t possibly go wrong, right?!

Big Summery snoggingtons,

http-signatures-mylivesignature-com-54494-355-4f5963f54c5592ff541aa0878ca957e3

Come find me on Instagram! @katscarlettj & Twitter! @katiessanctuary

9 thoughts on “Summer Survival Must Haves!

  1. Loved this post, so well done, great writing and photos and I loved the little headers. Sleeks Solstice palette is one of my all time faves and my go to setting spray is definitely Urban Decays all nighter, its amazing. X

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aw thank you!! Solstice is SO beaut isn’t it, although I swatched Cleopatra’s Kiss the other day and now I’m lusting after it! Will definitely make a note of the UD setting spray you’ve recommended, would you believe I’ve never purchased any of their products!! x

      Like

  2. This is such a good post idea, literally the perfect list of things to survive the summer! I’ve been wanting to get one of those bottles that you can infuse it with fruit, half the time its such a struggle for me to drink water but if I add a hint of lemon or cucumber I drink it right up! Also YESS to aloe vera and coconut oil, MUST HAVES this summer for sure, as bronzed as we wanna be it won’t be cute unless we take care of our skin too! ❤ ❤
    xo, JJ

    Like

Leave a Reply

