Life Lessons From My Grandad

So I’ve never really spoken much about my Grandad before – which is bizarre because he’s basically my favourite person on the planet! (Sorry to everyone that this statement offends, I love you all equally ofc).

He’s taught me a lot in my 26 years, but more so as I’ve gotten older; he’s lived such a full and colourful life, and has such a beautiful outlook that I feel like it’d be a shame not to share some of his wisdom with you.

To begin with, let me tell you a little bit about the man himself…

  • He’s a plumber by trade, so uber handy when the taps decide to bugger up.
  • He wears bandanas when it’s hot and reminds me of a biker dude.
  • He says ‘fu*k’ about 120 times a day. Like if he had a swear jar, the man would be a millionaire.
  • He’s inexplicably kind hearted and would do anything for anyone, but that doesn’t mean he takes any sh*t.
  • He’s got wicked music taste – like me, he likes a bit of everything, but his absolute fave is Jethro Tull; if you know who he is/like his tunes, he’ll legit love you forever.
  • He’s always laughing – he doesn’t take life too seriously and it’s infectious AF. This actually brings me to the first ‘life lesson’ from my Grandad.
  1. Keep smiling – don’t take life too seriously: My Grandad is always laughing. Ok, so he’s human, ofc there are days when he’s a little less jolly or peeved about something – somehow though, he always finds it in himself to keep smiling. He’s got a wicked infectious laugh on him and honestly, he’s like a medicine for making you feel better. The lesson here? Smile a little more, laugh a little harder – you never know who’s day you could be making.
  2. It’s ok to fuck up – that’s how you learn: Grandad’s always taught me to give things a go no matter what; even if I think I’m gonna fail at something, he’ll tell me ‘so what? Besides, you don’t fail, you learn – and if you don’t fuck up, you haven’t tried hard enough’. 
  3. Be the better person: Grandad’s a big believer in not treating people crappy just because they treat/ed you crappy. In his eyes, you should always try to be the better person…that said, he’s also a big believer in not taking any sh*t. So… be kind, pick your battles, and don’t be trodden on right, Grandad?
  4. The ‘fu*k it’ attitude: This lesson is pretty much exactly what it says on the tin; my Grandad has lived his whole life not asking ‘is this a good idea?’ ‘what if I hurt myself?’ ‘what if I mess up?’, in fact he’s pretty much never uttered the words ‘what if?’ – he lives by ‘fu*k it’ – he gives things a go, he’s spontaneous and he lives in the moment, and he encourages me to do so all the time. That’s what life’s all about, right?!
  5. “Make haste for where the sun shines”: So this is something my Grandad randomly said when I was sat in the car with him years ago. There’s no obvious lesson behind it, but I’ve always remembered it & I like to apply it to my life like… whatever happens, whatever I do, always try to make haste for where the sun shines – I dunno, always be happy, always go where makes you happy.

One more thing I should probably tell you about my Grandad, because it’d be criminal not to whilst I’m here – he loves unconditionally and with the fullest heart imaginable – he doesn’t half arse anything, and that’s especially true when it comes to how he loves. He’s always been there for me and he always gives me 110% of himself. He’s a diamond among rocks, and it’s been my privilege to share just a few words about him with you today.

Is there someone in your life who’s taught you life lessons/is wise as the old tree in Disney’s Pocahontas?! Please comment below and tell me what you’ve learned from them!

Thank you for reading this, I’m aware it was a bit of soppy one, but it meant a lot for me to write about my Grandad so…thanks for being a part of that! 🙂

Big kisses,

http-signatures-mylivesignature-com-54494-355-4f5963f54c5592ff541aa0878ca957e3

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “Life Lessons From My Grandad

  1. I absolutely love your grandad pal, one of the nicest I’ve ever crossed paths with, not that I have too often anyway! Hope he’s keeping well, send him my best!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aw thanks old pal. He really is a diamond isn’t he, you’ll have to see him at some point! Will give him your best ofc! Thanks for reading too, means the world!! x

      Like

Leave a Reply

