Recipe: Millionaire’s Shortbread

20170723_085641-01

Ok, now hold on to your brollies folks (it’s hella wet in the UK right now), I may have just made the sexiest Millionaires Shortbread yet. 

I mean I think it tastes alright anyway?!

I decided last Saturday whilst flicking through one of my many baking books, that I wanted to practice making something a bit spesh for my pals this coming weekend – I landed on a double page spread of mouth watering Millionaires Shortbread and ding ding ding, we had our winner!

The recipe is courtesy of Good Housekeeping’s Great Cakes and let me tell you, it’s a lot easier than I thought it’d be. Top tip! I shopped at Lidl for most of the ingredients & saved a lot of money – the 100g bars of milk chocolate I used from there are a whole 30p a pop & they kinda taste like Lindt. SOLD.

Prep time: 25 minutes – Cooking time: 25 minutes – Serves 20

Ingredients:

For the biscuit base

  • 250g / 9oz Plain flour, sifted, plus extra for kneading
  • 75g / 3oz Golden caster sugar
  • 175g / 6oz Unsalted butter, softened and diced, plus extra to grease

For the caramel –

  • 2 x 397g cans sweetened condensed milk
  • 100g / 3 1/2oz light muscovado sugar
  • 100g / 3 1/2oz unsalted butter

For the topping – 

  • 250g / 9oz plain chocolate (I went for milk!)

Method:

1. Preheat your oven to 180°C (160°C fan oven) / gas mark 4. Grease a 30.5 x 22cm (12 x 8 1/2 inch) Swiss roll tin and line with greaseproof paper.

20170722_181336-01

2. Put the flour, caster sugar and butter in a food processor and whiz until the mixture forms crumbs. Pulse a little more until it forms a ball. I don’t own a food processor so started off with a whisk then just used my fingers, which worked well!  Turn out to a lightly floured surface and knead to combine. Press the mixture into the prepared tin and bake for 20 minutes until firm to the touch and very pale brown.

3. For the caramel, put the condensed milk, sugar and butter into a heatproof bowl and microwave on high for 12 minutes, beating with a whisk every 2-3 minutes. Whisk until the mixture is thick and fudgey. Spoon on to the shortbread, smooth over & cool.

After the 6 minute mark, the mix began to bubble over & was seriously sticky – the microwave had to be super-cleansed after! I’d recommend whisking every minute rather than 2-3 after the halfway point.) Now I did mine for the right time and to the T, but it wasn’t an insanely fudgey texture in the end – don’t be too worried; when I poured the mix over the biscuit base, it soon began to set & thicken!

NOTE: There totally would’ve been a fancy snap of the caramel here, had my phone not died and the microwave not needed cleaning before everything set in itSoz.

4. For the topping, melt the chocolate in a heatproof bowl in the microwave on medium heat for 2 minutes & pour over the caramel. Be careful not to let the chocolate over-heat – 2 minutes may even be just too long! Check in on it every 30 seconds or so & give it a little stir – believe me when I tell you the smell of burnt chocolate is rotten!

20170722_200439-01

5. Leave to set at room temperature, then cut into 20 squares to serve.

The kitchen was very hot and I didn’t see my shortbread setting very well, so after a while I did pop it in the fridge. Do note that when you’re ready to cut, it’ll be easier to do so at room temp as I cut mine straight out of the fridge – it didn’t bother me a button that the chocolate was cracked over the top a little, but if you’re a perfectionist, cut from room temp! 

20170723_084218-01

& there we have it! I’m not gonna lie, I was a little nervy of the outcome as I’d never made this before, but I’m quite happily surprised! It’s super sweet, very tasty and a little goes a long way – in other words be wary of having a monster slice bc you will be nursing a food baby afterwards!

Let me know if you give this a crack!

Big bear hugs,

http-signatures-mylivesignature-com-54494-355-4f5963f54c5592ff541aa0878ca957e3

 

 

10 thoughts on “Recipe: Millionaire’s Shortbread

Leave a Reply

